Map › All states › Nevada
Nevada trucking rules
Fees, CDL costs, weight and size limits, chain laws and new bills for truckers and trucking companies in Nevada. Updated 2026-10-22.
Must-know rules · Weight, oversize & chains · Fees · Bills
Must-know rules
Nevada says it has no ports of entry or official weigh stations, and it issues over-dimensional permits only through NDOT, in Carson City or online. Out-of-state carriers must get registration and fuel-tax permits before they enter. I could not confirm truck-specific speed limits, hazmat routing, handheld-phone rules or a weight-distance tax from reliable pages, so those are left out.
Researched by our AI agent from the linked sources on 2026-10-21. Always confirm with the source.
- Must knowOver-dimensional permit triggers
A permit is needed for non-reducible loads or combinations over 80,000 lb gross, 8'6" wide, 14' high, 10' of front or rear overhang, or 70' long. Permits are issued only by the NDOT Carson City office or online. No ports of entry or other locations issue them.
Over Dimensional Vehicles (NDOT) - Must knowOut-of-state carrier permits before entering
All carriers must get their permits before entering or traveling in Nevada. Out-of-state vehicles at 10,001 lb or more need a registration permit before entry. Fuel tax permits are required at 26,001 lb or more, or for any vehicle with three or more axles. Out-of-state vehicles of 10,000 lb and under used in business need a Non-Resident Business Permit within 10 days of starting operations.
Motor Carrier Permits (Nevada DMV)
8 more rules for Nevada, plus border-crossing alerts in the tracker app and daily change emails.
Try it free for 14 days No card needed. Then $9.99/month or $79/year.Weight limits, oversize permits and chain laws
Our agent is still researching Nevada's weight, size and chain rules. Check back soon.
Fees and DOT requirements
Nevada sets truck registration by declared gross weight at $17 per 1,000 lb, capped at $1,360 for 26,001–80,000 lb. Value-based Governmental Services Tax is charged on top, and the official pages I found don't state its amount for heavy trucks. For-hire property carriers that run only inside Nevada get intrastate authority through the DMV Motor Carrier Division. The NTA certificate is for 'fully regulated' carriers: passengers, household goods and towing. Nevada also requires a USDOT number for
- Class B CDL
- $141.50 for 8 years (about $17.69 a year)
$141.50 is the original/transfer fee when both knowledge and skills tests are required. Original/transfer needing knowledge tests only is $111.50. 8-year renewal is $111.50 (knowledge tests only or none) or $141.50 (knowledge and skills tests). Valid 4 years for applicants 65+ (renewal $57.50, or $8 Source - Class A CDL
- $141.50 for 8 years (about $17.69 a year)
No Class A/Class B fee difference found. Fees depend on the transaction type, not the class. See the Class B entry for the full breakdown (CLP $57.50, skills test $30, endorsements $14 each plus $3.50 photo). The same caveat applies: the official table wasn't directly visible, and the $58.25 figure Source - Registration, 26,001 lb straight truck
- $459 a year Source
- Registration, 80,000 lb combination
- $1,360 a year Source
- How registration is figured
- Declared gross weight. For a motor truck or truck-tractor at 26,001–80,000 lb the fee is $17 per 1,000 lb or fraction, maximum $1,360 (NRS 482.480/482.482). Value-based Governmental Services Tax (a percentage of original MSRP, depreciated) is charged in addition. Commercial vehicles of 10,000 lb or
The $459 figure is my calculation from the official schedule: 26,001 lb rounds up to 27 units of 1,000 lb, and 27 × $17 = $459. The $1,360 figure is 80 × $17, which equals the statutory cap. Both are base weight fees only. The Governmental Services Tax is extra, and the heavy-vehicle tax schedule was not stated in the sources I found. Trailers are charged separately; Nevada's permanent fleet trail Source - Intrastate operating authority
- Intrastate Commerce Authority (DMV Motor Carrier Division) for common and contract carriers of property; Certificate of . unclear - not stated in the sources found.
The DMV says common and contract carriers of property other than fully regulated carriers are granted Intrastate Commerce Authority by the DMV Motor Carrier Division as part of DMV licensing (application form MC 208). Fully regulated carriers apply to the Nevada Transportation Authority. These are common or contract carriers of passengers or household goods, such as limousines, charter buses and t Source
State DOT requirements
- Must knowUSDOT number for intrastate carriers
Nevada requires a USDOT number on all intrastate companies operating commercial vehicles rated 26,001 lb or heavier. This is stricter than the federal rule for purely intrastate operations.
New Motor Carriers - Nevada DMV
See all 10 DOT requirements with full access
Fees change; confirm with the linked state source. Compare all states.
New Nevada trucking bills
No new trucking bills found here recently. The agent checks every morning.
Driving through Nevada? The RigRules tracker reads each state's rules aloud when you cross a state line.
Open the tracker Compare fees in every state